Jannah Theme License is not validated, Go to the theme options page to validate the license, You need a single license for each domain name.
Naija Politics

Former President Goodluck Jonathan Missing From APC Presidential Aspirants List

Former President Goodluck Jonathan Missing From APC Presidential Aspirants List

  • Goodluck Jonathan is missing from APC presidential Aspirants list.
  • This is coming after the  court declared him eligible to run for the 2023 presidency.
  • APC released a list of Presidential Aspirants for screening on Monday.

The All Progressive Congress (APC) has released the list of its presidential Aspirants, with the former president of the Republic of Nigeria missing from the list.

Last Friday, Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, GCON, was declared eligible to run for the 2023 presidential election by a Federal High Court in Yenagoa, Bayelsa state. 

According to the Federal High Court, the former governor of Bayelsa State is constitutionally qualified to run for the president’s office in the upcoming election. 

Justice Hamma Adama Dashen, in his judgement in the Federal High Court, said that the fourth alteration to the Constitution, which bars Vice-Presidents who succeed their principals from serving more than one entire tenure, does not affect Goodluck Jonathan.

Back in 2018, the incumbent president of Nigeria, Muhammadu Buhari, signed the alteration of the 1999 Constitution, barring vice-presidents who succeed their principals from serving more than a full term.

Goodluck Jonathan was the vice president of Nigeria between 2007 and 2010 during the tenure of late President Umaru Musa Yar’ Adua. 

Following the death of Yar’adua in May 2010, he stepped in as the president of the country to complete his tenure. In 2011, he won the Presidential election but lost to former military Head of State Muhammadu Buhari in 2015.

According to a report last Thursday, Jonathan had submitted his 100 million Naira for the presidential nomination form to the national chairman of the All Progressive Congress, Abdullahi Adamu. Still, surprisingly he is not on the list of the presidential Aspirants to be screened by the ruling party.

Goodluck Jonathan

Read also: Atiku Emerges Victorious in PDP Primary Election

The names of the APC Presidential aspirants for screening are listed below:

  1. Badaru Abubakar
  2. Chukwuemeja Uwaezuoke Nwajiuba
  3. Robert A. Boroffice
  4. Uju Ken-Ohanenye
  5. 5.Nweze David Umahi
  6. Nicholas Felix
  7. Ken Nnamani
  8. Gbolahan B. Bakare
  9. Ibikunle Amosun
  10. Ahmed B. Tinubu
  11. Ahmad Rufai Sani
  12. Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi
  13. Oladimeji Sabon Bankole
  14. John Kayode Fayemi
  15. Godswill Obot Akpabio
  16. Yemi Osinbajo
  17. Rochas Anayo Okorocha
  18. Yahaya Bello
  19. Tein Jack-Rich
  20. Christopher Onu
  21. Ahmad Lawan
  22. Ben Ayade
  23. Ikeobasi Mokelu 

Follow Naija.fm on our social media handles FacebookInstagram, and Twitter to keep up with trending news and entertainment gist.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button