Naija PoliticsNews

#EkitiDecides2022: Ekiti State Gubernatorial Elections in Nigeria 2022.

Everything you need to know about the gubernatorial election in Ekiti State.

The just-concluded Ekiti State gubernatorial elections in Nigeria took place on June 18, 2022, in Ekiti State.

According to data from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Ekiti has 988,923 registered voters and the election held in 2,445 polling units spread among 177 registration areas in the state’s 16 local government regions.

The Ekiti State Gubernatorial Elections Results: Party Candidates and The Number of Votes

2022 Ekiti State gubernatorial election

APC: Abiodun Oyebanji 187,057 with votes.
SDP: Olusegun Oni with 82,211 votes.
PDP: Bisi Kolawole with 67,457 votes.
ADC: Oluwole Oluyede with 5,597 votes.
ADP: Kemi Josephine Elebute-Halle with 3,495 votes.
APP: Christiana Modupe Olatawura with 1,980 votes.
PRP: Olaniyi Ben Agboola with 856 votes.
YPP: Adebowale Oluranti Ajayi with 618 votes.
NNPP: Oladosu Abiodun Fatomilola with 529 votes.
AAC: Moses Olajide Ajagunigbala with 409 votes.
APGA: Benjamin Olufemi Obidoyin with 376 votes.
NRM: Ifedayo Iyaniwura 347 with votes.
APM: Peter Adegbenro Fagbemi with 290 votes.
ZLP: Kolade Akinyemi Adeolu with 282 votes.
LP: Olugbenga Daramola with 195 votes.
A: Reuben Famuyibo with 166 votes.

The total turnout in the Ekiti State Gubernatorial Elections amounted to 360,753. INEC recorded 8,888 blank/invalid votes leaving total votes to 351,865.

Biodun Oyebanji
Ekiti state elections winner 2022

The All Progressives Congress’ (APC) Biodun Oyebanji has been named the winner of the Ekiti State gubernational election by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The election’s Returning Officer, Prof Kayode Adebowale, Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, announced the results.
“Oyebanji, having received the maximum number of votes, is hereby proclaimed the winner and returned elected as,” Adebowale added.

Mr Oyebanji defeated his two closest rivals, Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party (SDP) and Bisi Kolawole of the People’s Democratic Party, with a total of 187,057 votes.

The SDP came in second with 82,211 votes, while the PDP came in third with 67,457 votes.

Ekiti State Gubernatorial Elections: After The Elections

Following the announcement of the complete results in the early morning hours of June 19th, Oyebanji declared victory in front of his supporters before thanking his former opponents and the people of Ekiti State.

The Segun Oni Campaign Organization, on the other hand, rejected the results due to reports of vote buying and further allegations of security force bias. Kolawole accepted the results in a congratulatory letter to Oyebanji and wished him the best in governance; on the other hand, the Segun Oni Campaign Organization rejected the results in a congratulatory letter to Oyebanji and wished him the best in governance.

This was said by Mr Moses Jolayemi, a former governor’s communications aide, during an interview on Channels Television’s Sunday Politics.
“We received it with shock,” he said of the new outcome of the poll in which the former governor was the candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP). “Shock in the sense that nobody expected that they could take it this far”

Similarly, Kemi Josephine Elebute-Halle, an ADP nominee and one of the more famous minor party nominees, disapproved of the results, citing “vote buying and corruption.

President Muhammadu Buhari and APC National Chairman Abdullahi Adamu congratulated Oyebanji and complimented the Independent National Electoral Commission and the electoral process at the national level.

There were also report of vote-buying during the elections for as much as ₦10,000.

Read also: Kwankwaso and Peter Obi Merger Closer as NNPP Executive Raises Hope

Follow on our social media handles FacebookInstagram, and Twitter to keep up with trending news and entertainment gist.

Are you a Dancer? Artist? Actor? Got other talents and skills?

Get a chance to create content and earn money online!
Visit to get started!

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button