Music Event

Project Fame West Africa: Why MTN withdrew sponsorship from talent show

Project Fame West Africa: Why MTN withdrew sponsorship from talent show

After full support of sponsoring ‘Project Fame West Africa’ to the 9th season, MTN Nigeria has allegedly withdrawn from the talent show. Project Fame West Africa.

Although, neither the producers nor the telecommunication company have issued a statement to the public as at press time, this development was made known to Olisa Blogazine by a source close to the show producers, Ultima Limited the same company that produced the now-defunct educational show, Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.

See also WWTBAM ‘fires’ Frank Edoho as host, reduces star prize money to N5m [SEE WHY]

Project Fame West Africa

Project Fame West AfricaAccording to the source, hints that the telecoms company would be cancelling its support started last year after the successful completion of the 9th season which saw Okiemute Ighorodje emerging as the winner.

For the 10th season slated for this year, it was rumoured that old contestants would be back to compete, but that plans were yet to materialise before the title sponsor, MTN, decided to withdraw their support.

The famous show gifted fans with talented acts, including Iyanya, who won the debut edition in 2008; and Chidinma, who won the 2010 edition.

Project Fame, also known as Project Fame West Africa or MTN Project Fame West Africa, is a music talent TV reality show filmed in Lagos and aired in the West African subcontinent. It is a regional version of Star Academy reality series that was developed and is licensed worldwide by Endemol.

Don’t miss ‘One for Olu, one for Tagbo’ – Davido dedicates AFRIMMA awards to late friends

Project Fame West AfricaThe show used to feature contestants from Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria and Sierra Leone, but Liberia and Sierra Leone have been dropped since the 2014 Ebola Outbreak. The show is broadcast by networks in these four countries and across the African continent.

Run by Ultima production, Project Fame’s inaugural season began in 2008. The production format consists of gala evenings held each Sunday night in primetime and hosted by Joseph Benjamin and Adaora Oleh. In season 7, Adaora was replaced with Bolanle Olukanni. Additionally, there’s a weekly recap show and the Eviction night on Saturday night.

The jury is formed by three judges; Praiz, Bibie Brew and Tee-Y Mix, and Faculty members of the Academy which include: Joke Silva, Lovette Otegbola, Dupe Ige and Ben Ogbeiwi.

For more entertainment and interesting celebrity gists, follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest and Google+. 

Show More

Danielle Ogbeche

Writer, Journalist, Blogger, Singer, Poet, Actress, Public Speaker, Entrepreneur, Interior Decor Specialist, Human Rights Activist, Pace Setter / Goal Getter, Relationship Councillor, Communication Expert...#IAmTooManyThingsInOne #GodPikin

Related Articles

Back to top button