COVID 19: UAE Lifts Nigeria Travel Ban

COVID 19: UAE Lifts Nigeria Travel Ban

  • The United Arab Emirate authorities have lifted a travel ban that was placed on Nigeria last year
  • The ban was issued to prevent the spread of the COVID 19 Omicron variant when cases became rampant late last year
  • 11 other countries including South Africa, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Tanzania, and Kenya have also been removed from the travel ban list

Authorities of the United Arab Emirates have lifted the travel ban that was placed on inbound flights from Nigeria and 11 other countries.

The travel restrictions were issued last year following the emergence of the Omicron variant of COVID 19 and a drastic rise in cases.
Other countries that were affected by the ban that has been unbanned are Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Congo, South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Botswana, and Eswatini.
UAE also updated the entry measures for travelers from Ghana, Rwanda, and Uganda.


For these 3 countries, travelers will have to submit a COVID 19 PCR test that was obtained no more than 48 hours before departure.
According to a statement that was released by the National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority, the measures are set to take effect from January 29th by 2:30 pm.

Read also: Stealth Omicron Discovered in 40 Countries

The Omicron variant is a highly transmissible variant of COVID 19, which was first discovered in November 2021.

Although the variant is known to cause less severe disease than many others, the World Health Organization has urged everyone to carry out proper measures to prevent the spread.

Follow on our social media handles FacebookInstagram, and Twitter to keep up with trending news, breaking news, entertainment news, and hot gist.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button