2021 Ballon d’Or: France Football Announces 30-Man Shortlist| SEE FULL LIST

2021 Ballon D'Or

Anticipation builds ahead of the 2021 Ballon d’Or award from French Football as COVID-19 disrupted the awards last year. The French Football has released its 30-man list for the 2021 edition with familiar names making the list this year again.

Chelsea’s midfield duo, N’Golo Kante and Jorginho are new names being tipped to win the award this year after a stellar year in top-flight football, particularly winning the Champion’s League. Jorginho also clinched Euro 2020 with the Italian National Team.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Robert Lewandowski, unsurprisingly make the list alongside youngsters like Kylian Mbappe, and Erling Haaland, with Barcelona’s Pedri Gonzalez making a dramatic inclusion.

The award ceremony is billed to hold in Paris, France on November 29, 2021. With the list now set, voting can commence as the race to the new best footballer begins. The voters will comprise of international sports journalists, national team coaches, and captained.

Poland and Bayern Munich’s Lewandowski was leading the pack to last year’s awards before it was canceled. Lionel Messi, the 2019 winner, and Ronaldo have shared 11 of the last 12 editions with only Luka Modric getting in between the duo in 2018.

2021 Ballon d’Or 30-man Shortlist (alphabetically)

Bruno Fernandes

Cesar Azpilicueta

Cristiano Ronaldo

Erling Haaland

Gerard Moreno

Gianluigi Donnarumma

Giorgio Chiellini

Harry Kane


Karim Benzema

Kevin De Bruyne

Kylian Mbappe

Lautaro Martinez

Leonardo Bonucci

Lionel Messi

Luis Suarez

Luka Modric

Mason Mount

Mohamed Salah


N’Golo Kante

Nicolo Barella


Phil Foden

Raheem Sterling

Riyad Mahrez

Robert Lewandowski

Romelu Lukaku

Ruben Dias

Simon Kjaer

The France Football also released a 10-man list for the Kopa Trophy for the best performing Under-21 player and the Yashin Trophy for the best goalkeeper.

Kopa Trophy shortlist: Bukayo Saka, Jude Bellingham, Mason Greenwood, Jeremy Doku, Ryan Gravenberch, Pedri, Jamal Musiala, Florian Wirtz, Nuno Mendes, Giovanni Reyna.

Yashin Trophy shortlist: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Ederson, Kasper Schmeichel, Edouard Mendy, Keylor Navas, Emiliano Martínez, Manuel Neuer, Jan Oblak, Samir Handanovic

On the other hand, the race is also on for the 2021 Ballon D’or Feminin with 20 nominees released so far. Unsurprisingly, the list has the likes of Vivianne Miedema, Sam Kerr, Pernille Harder, Fran Kirby, and Jennifer Hermoso. Here is the full list (alphabetically).

Alexia Putellas

Ashley Lawrence

Christiane Endler

Christine Sinclair

Ellen White

Fran Kirby

Irene Paredes

Jennifer Hermoso

Jessie Fleming

Kadidiatou Diani

Lieke Martens

Magdalena Eriksson

Marie-Antoinette Katoto

Pernille Harder

Sam Kerr

Samantha Mewis

Sandra Panos

Stina Blackstenius

Vivianne Miedema

Wendie Renard


Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button